Local winners of the Member for Barker Mr Tony Pasin’s annual Barker Shield Program have been presented with the award as part of their end of year school presentation ceremonies.


The Barker Shield is an annual award given to three students in each participating school. It celebrates student excellence in three categories: academic achievement; community service and spirit; and a category determined by the school.


“As Federal Member for Barker, it is a great privilege to be able to recognise the valuable contribution of the students that achieve at very high levels,” Mr Pasin said.


“COVID19 has no doubt had an impact on us all. I commend students on their perseverance, dedication and commitment to their studies during this once in a lifetime disruption.”


“I wish to congratulate each of the students who received the Barker Shield award. They are incredibly worthy recipients who have made positive contributions to their school community. This positive contribution is permanently honoured through the perpetual Barker Shield, which is displayed in a prominent location at each school” said Mr Pasin.


Within Barker 20 Schools participated in the 2020 Barker Shield program. Details of participating schools and award winners from the Murray Mallee are attached.


“On behalf of the Federal Government, I congratulate all students for their efforts through a difficult year and whether they are continuing study or entering the work force I wish students from all schools across Barker all the best for 2021”.


School Academic Achievement Award Community Service and Spirit Award School’s Choice Award
Coomandook Area School Alistair Neumann Blake Walter & Harrison Stott Agricultural Participation and Enterprise:

Josiah Peter

Lameroo Regional Community School Isabelle Moyle Chelsea Nassif Modelling School Values:

Ashton Trowbridge

Mannum Community College Brock Heward Brock Treloar Community and Sporting Achievement:

Madison Cook Palm

Meningie Area School Charli Medlow Thomas Pearson & Jace Ridley Vocational Education and Training:

Sheniqua Shaw

Murray Bridge High School Brooke Lehmann Kiah Edwards Leadership:

Zella Worden

Swan Reach Area School Michael Trezise Donald Kailem Dahmes School Values:

Olivia Hayford

Unity College Yasmin Harrowfield Nate Clayson Student Leadership Award:

Lilly Purvis


Media Contact: Vanessa Juergens 08 8531 2466