Barker resident Lachlan Seears of Conmurra was among eight national award winners recognised today for the significant contribution he has made to the success of the agriculture sector.

Member for Barker Tony Pasin congratulated all the winners who received their awards at parliament house today saying it was important to talk up the sector and celebrate successes.

“The 2017 Kondinin Group Award for Excellence in Technology was awarded to Lachie as part of the Australian Farmer of the Year Awards for 2017 in recognition of his hard work and dedication to the sector and community,” Mr Pasin said.

Lachlan, a mixed farmer in the South East, has taken a traditional grazing operation and turned it into a value-adding irrigation, fodder and food crop enterprise.

Managing nearly 3000 hectares, Lachie needed to look at what was available and what the latest advances in technology were so he could remain efficient and competitive in the business. Lachie’s uses Control Traffic Farming, tramline marking and auto-steer GPS, Electronic Identification (EID) on sheep plus an auto weigh/drafting machine, and given his on-farm grain storage facility has the capacity to store more than 6200 tonnes of grain.

Lachie has invested significantly in specific storage technology such as a computer-controlled aeration system to protect the grain. This is all in addition to a range of software programs and Apps including the John Deere Link to monitor machines remotely, AgriWebb App to monitor and track livestock, Reinke ‘Rein Cloud’ to monitor and control irrigation and mapping software App AGRI plot, which allows quick and easy mapping of paddocks.

“This is a great example of ingenuity and leadership in the farm sector, which not only helps to secure a profitable future for their business and others in our regional communities but also provides inspiration for others in the sector,” Mr Pasin said.

“That’s not only good for the farm and the immediate community, it’s good for the nation’s economic bottom line.

“It’s the thousands of family run farms that make a significant contribution to the nation’s economy and they deserve the recognition awards like this provide.

“I congratulate all winners for their dedication to the sector and for the example they set and congratulate Kondinin Group and ABC Rural for their continued support of these awards.”


Australian Farmer of the Year award winners for 2017:

  • Australian Farmer of the Year: Andrew Bulmer, Victoria
  • Young Farmer of the Year: Jason Smith, Victoria
  • Farming Legend of the Year: John Bennett, Tasmania
  • Rural Community Leader of the Year Award: Kristy Sparrow, Queensland
  • Rural Consultant of the Year: Greg Mills, New South Wales
  • Excellence in Innovation: Rob Cook, Queensland
  • Excellence in Technology: Lachlan Seears, South Australia
  • Excellence in Diversification: James Walker, Queensland


CONTACT: Charlotte Edmunds 8531 2466