Mr PASIN (Barker) (13:31):  Every year, the Queen’s Birthday Honours recognise those among us who make a real and significant difference to our country by enriching and enhancing our local communities. I’m pleased to inform the House that nine residents of my electorate of Barker were awarded Medals of the Order of Australia, including Robin Conboy and Neville Gilbertson for service to the community of Mount Gambier, Barbara Johnson for service to the community of Naracoorte, Oscar Joppich for service to the Lutheran church and the broader community, John Menzel for service to horticulture, Ann Ratsch for service to the community through a range of organisations, and David Thomas for service to the community through a range of roles.

I would also like to acknowledge two recipients of posthumous honours. I send my congratulations to their families, who I am sure are most proud. The late Raymond Scott, who was a personal friend and mentor of mine, received his honour for significant service to the road transport industry and the broader community, while the late Judith Crabtree received her honour for service to primary education.

To everyone recognised this year across the nation in the Queen’s Birthday Honours: thank you for your service. You are a credit not only to yourselves but to your family as well, and to the broader community.