The Division of Barker is an Australian Electoral Division in the south-east of South Australia. The division was established on 2 October 1903, when South Australia’s original single multi-member division was split into seven single-member divisions.

It is named for Collet Barker, an early explorer of the region at the mouth of the Murray River. The 63,886 km² seat currently stretches from Morgan in the north to Port MacDonnell in the south, taking in the Murray Mallee, the Riverland, the Murraylands and most of the Barossa Valley.


From Tony’s first speech in Parliament

Barker is an electorate that has delivered so much to the nation and sought so little in return.

It is an electorate whose economic strength is matched only by its diversity.

It is the engine room of regional South Australia, endowed with natural resources perfectly suited to the pursuit of agricultural production.

It is a place of natural beauty, from the volcanic region of the south to the river oasis of the north, from the rolling hills of the Barossa to the picturesque plains of the Murray lands and Mallee.

It is a place that boasts leading, world-class production of grain, vegetables, fruit, timber and livestock for meat and dairy.

These commodities link wine grape growers at Angaston, Waikerie and Penola, croppers at Karoonda and Loxton, plus livestock farmers at Lucindale, Meningie and Lameroo.

These commodities unite Barker and make it a truly strong and interwoven community.


Members of Barker

Since its establishment following the redistribution of the former division of South Australia on 2 October 1903, eight members have served as the member for Barker.

NamePeriodParty Representation
Mr Tony Pasin2013 –LP
Mr Patrick Secker1998-2013LP
Mr Ian McLachlan1990-1998LP
Mr James Porter1975–1990LP
Mr Jim Forbes1956–1975LP
Mr Archie Cameron1934–1956CP/LP/LCL/LP
Mr Malcolm Cameron1922–1934NAT/UAP/LP
Mr John Livingston1906–1922ANTI–SOC/LIB/NAT
Mr John Bonython1903–1906PROT