Local winners of the Member for Barker Mr Tony Pasin’s annual Barker Shield Program have been presented with the award as part of their end of year school presentation ceremony.


The Barker Shield is an annual award given to three students in each participating school. It celebrates student excellence in three categories: academic achievement; community service and spirit; and a category determined by the school.


“As Federal Member for Barker, it is a great privilege to be able to recognise the valuable contribution of the students that achieve at very high levels,” Mr Pasin said.


“COVID19 has no doubt had an impact on us all. I commend students on their perseverance, dedication and commitment to their studies during this once in a lifetime disruption.”


Faith Lutheran College students Lucy Blenkiron, Abby Griffiths and Olyvia Reimers were awarded Barker Shields for Academic Achievement, Community Service and Spirit and Magnolia Prize respectively.


Kapunda High School students Maddison McMahon, Piper Aplin and Ailee Craig were awarded Barker Shields for Academic Achievement, Community Service and Spirit and Year 11 Leadership and Teamwork respectively.


Due to COVID 19 restrictions Nuriootpa High School recipients will be awarded the Barker Shields early in 2021.


“I wish to congratulate each recipient of the Barker Shield award. They are incredibly worthy recipients who have made positive contributions to their school community. This positive contribution is permanently honoured through the perpetual Barker Shield, which is displayed in a prominent location at each school” said Mr Pasin.


Within Barker 20 Schools participated in the 2020 Barker Shield program.


“On behalf of the Federal Government, I congratulate all students for their efforts through a difficult year and whether they are continuing study or entering the work force I wish students from all schools across Barker all the best for 2021”.


Media Contact: Vanessa Juergens 08 8531 2466