Member for Barker Tony Pasin MP has awarded local students with the annual Barker Shield as part of their end of year celebrations.


The Barker Shield is an annual award given to three students in each participating school across the Federal electorate of Barker. It celebrates student excellence in three categories: academic achievement; community service and spirit; and a category determined by the school.


“As Federal Member for Barker, it is a great privilege to be able to recognise the valuable contribution of the students that achieve at very high levels,” Mr Pasin said.


“These students have excelled in their studies or in the school community and are undoubted future leaders. No matter what they go on to achieve or where, I want them to feel valued and recognised for the leadership shown during their time at school and as part of the wider Barossa community.”


“Each of these students are worthy recipients who have now been honoured through the perpetual Barker Shield, which is displayed in a prominent location at the school,” said Mr Pasin.


Award winners from Faith Lutheran College are as follows:


Academic Achievement Award: Bethany Rosenboom

Community Service and Spirit Award: Alice Cook

Magnolia Prize: Chey Dahlitz


Award winners from Nuriootpa High School are as follows:


Academic Achievement Award: Nicola Haeft and Theo Dadds

Community Service and Spirit Award: Peter Feaviour

Respect for Learning and School Community: Porsha Graham


Award winners from Kapunda High School are as follows:


Academic Achievement Award: Chloe Vanicky

Community Service and Spirit Award: Chloe McWaters

Year 11 Leadership and Teamwork: Connon Shepherd



“Congratulations to all students on completing the 2022 year of study and whether they are continuing further study or entering the work force I wish students from all schools across Barker all the best for 2023,” Mr Pasin said.


Media Contact: Charlotte Edmunds 8724 7730